When you’re not looking for it

There’s a saying or something about finding things when you’re not looking for them. Like the car keys. Or things you put away in that “special” hiding spot so you’ll remember where they are, but can’t never remember it. I had a day like that today.

I went to the beach this afternoon, despite the cold wind and the threat of yet MORE rain. Instead of walking, I sat in a corner near some rocks (to shelter from the wind) and just watched the world go by. As I sat there, I started to feel some of that characteristic special rejuvenation settle over me. I can’t tell you how good that felt! 🙂

After a while I realised that what I find here may not be some magic peace or healing afterall, but mindfulness. (Ok, I still think there’s some magic in the place, too 😉 ) I’m able to stop long enough to see the world around me. Today, for example, I saw the teeny weeny crab dancing up the sand to his home. And the six inches of blue sky trying to peek out from behind the clouds. I love it when I can slow things down enough for this. Especially with (or perhaps because of) beautiful mother nature! 🙂   

I also realised why my blog has been annoying me a bit of late. Not so much the blog itself, but my use of it. The way I get great ideas for posts that once would have been well thought out and well written, but now are dashed off in ten minutes flat because it’s all I can seem to find the time for. Or all I allow myself the time for. It’s not enough. I want to get back to a more mindful blogging, and more regularly. It’s much more meaningful to me, and more helpful. The trick, of course, will be to make that happen when I get home!

Fingers crossed for some more mindful rejuvenation tomorrow! 😉

9 thoughts on “When you’re not looking for it

  1. Hi Kerro,

    I’m not sure about you, but I find it easier to be able to reach states of mindfulness in some situations/environments… If I’m walking through a native tree section of the park, I’m more likely to walk slowly, and notice things around me in a mindful way… but, if I’m walking across the open grass area, I’ll walk more quickly and turn inwards to protect myself… So what you’re saying about you being more in touch with things on holiday makes sense – the beauty of the beach and the environment encourages you to be mindful. But, it is something that we can adopt elsewhere… they say it takes practice 🙂

    I hope you return home and are able to make the time for things that you want to do…

    Take care,
    CG

  2. @ Sanity – thanks!

    @ CG – You’re right, I agree some environments are more conducive to mindfulness than others. But how do we keep that going when we get home and are flooded by a whole lot of “stuff”?

  3. Thanks Kate. Nature is so wonderfully restorative. I don’t get enough of it when I’m at home. I get way too caught up in the day to day mania of the city, and I’ve been wondering how much that is impeding my healing. I’m glad you find nature helpful too. 🙂

    I love your new avatar/gravatar image thingy too, btw 😉

  4. I have just found your blog and subscribed and look forward to some more of your interesting writing. Your beach experience sounds wonderful. I find just opening the front door and getting out of the house makes my mind do all sorts of better different kinds of things.

  5. Hi Kerro,

    How are you doing now that you’ve returned home? I’m glad that you were able to slow down and really be present to the beach even when it isn’t as lovely as it usually is. I hope you were able to keep some of that experience with you when you returned to the city and work.

    love,
    di

  6. Hi Di, thanks for checking in and commenting. I’m afraid that the usual hurly burly of life has caught me again since I got home and I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed. Still determined to practice the “slowing down” and the mindfulness though. ((hugs)) to you, if wanted.

Leave a Reply

