We’re all going on a…

You know the song. I’m meant to be on a summer holiday in my favorite place in the whole world. The place that brings me peace, calm, rejuvenation. My spiritual home.

Actually I AM on my summer holiday, but it doesn’t feel like it. The weather has been awful. I think it’s rained non-stop since I arrived. Instead of spending the week on the beach with the magic of the ocean, I’ve spent most of it checking the weather, the flood warnings, road closures and beach closures. Sigh. Of course my heart goes out to the people who are seriously affected. I can’t imagine what having your home flooded must be like.

I never realised what an impact the weather could have on my mood. I don’t mind the rain so much. I mind missing the healing and recharge I came for. I’ve been to the beach a couple of times, but it’s just not the same. Instead of this:

20120127-204740.jpg

I’ve had this:

20120127-204844.jpg

And then this when the pool turned into a lake:

20120127-204949.jpg

It’s just not the same. I’m not getting the cleansing I usually get, or the healing or the recharge or the … anything really. I didn’t realise the weather would do this to me. or may be its the stress of the floods distracting me too much.

Don’t get me wrong – I love the beach in winter, and the roar of a rough ocean. I guess I just haven’t been able to connect with myself in the way I had hoped and haven’t been able to release all the stress I’ve been carrying 😦

Man what a whinge this post is. Sorry peeps. Just needed to vent I guess.

4 thoughts on “We’re all going on a…

  1. Oooh. I’m not sure about the pool being turned into a lake part, but I like the picture of the beach – it’s kind of wild and beautiful (as opposed to calm and beautiful). Sorry that you aren’t enjoying it though 😦

  2. Hi Same Sky, it’s nice to *see* you 😊 The beach is beautiful and it’s still my favorite place in almost the entire universe. I just haven’t had the “download” time I’ve usually had here. Plus the flood issue is pretty serious in the towns around me. And I have bathers and a sarong but no jumper LOL!

  3. I’m sorry you haven’t been able to have the break, and rejuvenation, that you needed… It’s possible to be upset about that, and feel awful for the people effected by the flooding as well; it doesn’t have to be an either, or thing…

    I hope you manage to get some R&R before returning home.

    Take care,
    CG

  4. Thanks Castorgirl. I did manage to find a bit of my usual rejuvenation this afternoon. I’m going to post soon about that. 😉

Leave a Reply

