Tis the Season

Well, I never thought this would happen. Practically for as long as I can remember, my mother has been the biggest ‘bah humbugger’ there is. Not anymore, apparently. It’s not even December and she’s been excited about putting up Christmas decorations; in fact she’s already put some up. “Say what?” you ask. Yea, I know.

Perhaps now that my father-abuser (and her husband-abuser) is dead she feels free to enjoy the coming festive season? Perhaps she’s determined to enjoy it now that he is finally gone? Perhaps she’s worried that this will be her last Christmas? It’s made me wonder if this Christmas might be less hideous than all the others, if at least one family member (well, my only family member) is open to enjoying it? Who knows? I’m not arguing, I’m just going with it.

By the way, this month’s Blog Carnival Against Child Abuse has just been published on the theme of ‘Surviving Holidays’. Head over to From Tracie to check out some most excellent submissions. 😉

6 thoughts on “Tis the Season

  1. Hi Kerro,

    I hope that she continues to be excited. No one needs a humbug in the house this time of year. Good and healing thoughts to you and your mum.

    Kate

  2. Hi Kate, you’re right, no one needs a humbug. May be I’m just so used to them that anything else seems unusual? Nice, though. I like it that she seems to be enjoying Christmas. 🙂

  3. hi kerro~ i got a little caught up on reading your blog the other day and wrote you a comment, but it was on an older post. not sure where now 🙂 anyway, just wanted to say i’m glad things sound like they are going well with your mom for the moment. i know when my dad was out of the picture, my mom seemed like a different person. and of course his death changed everything that much more.

    wishing you and your mom a peaceful holiday season~
    katie

  4. Hi Katie, thanks for reading my blog, and for your holiday wishes 🙂 Things are a bit up and down, but yes, compared to when my father was alive, doing much better. I haven’t really noticed much of a difference in Mum – except for her new found enjoyment of Christmas. I hope it continues. We’re due to get her next biopsy results tomorrow – I’m not really sure what they will hold, but I admit I’m a little scared. We’ll just have to wait and see. Take care and I hope you have a peaceful and happy holiday season as well. 🙂

  5. I like the idea of this being her call of Freeeeedom!!!! That would be so cool… to feel that oppression being lifted, and to look at things in a different way. Whatever the underlying reason, I hope it continues and you all have a great holiday season 🙂

    Take care,
    CG

  6. Hi CG – I hadn’t seen it in those terms before, but you’re right, this is a call of FREEDOM for her – yay! 🙂 I hope you have a happy and peaceful holiday season as well. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

