Expressive Arts Carnival No 13 –

I had the loveliest morning today – brunch with my dear friends from group, at a lovely little cafe in the inner ‘burbs. I feel truly blessed to have met these beautiful women, and richer for knowing every one of them.

There’s something special about being with others who truly understand you, what you’ve been through and the impact that’s had on your life.

There’s something special about what we’ve shared, and the deep level of trust and acceptance that comes from that.

There’s something special about bonding with such a diverse group, about learning from them, and loving each one for her uniqueness.

There’s something special about seeing how they handle healing, each one differently; how they too struggle with the ups and downs of it all, and how they all – every one of them – come out better for it on the other side.

And there’s something special about how calm I feel when I’m with them – centred, true to myself, at peace.

I think they’re amazing. I admire them all. And they, for some reason I can’t fathom, admire me.

These are the women who have influenced my healing.

This post is my entry for this month’s Expressive Arts Carnival activity:

Part 1: Think of someone you look up to, real or imaginary, who has taught you something you can use (or do use) in your healing. Describe either the characteristics of the person, what they told you, or how you have been helped. Use expressive writing by telling a story, writing a poem, or anything that makes sense to you. If you have a blog, you can feel free to publish this writing on your blog. But you will not submit this writing as your entry.

Part 2: For your entry, select three words from your writing that have particular meaning to you and also one color (or HEX color code) that you would like to associate with these words.

The words I choose are: acceptance, understanding and peace.  And I choose to represent them in purple, because it’s a colour often associated with power, and I feel powerful when I’m with – or even think about – these amazing souls.

4 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival No 13 –

  1. Kerro, that’s wonderful that you have found such a special group of people and feel understood, important for all of you and them.
    Gentle thoughts,
    Bay

  2. Kerro

    I did some group therapy two years ago. I haven’t thought about it in a long time but reading your post reminded me of how special a bond can develop when you are sharing your deepest pain with others who have been there too. Thank you for that reminder, it is a little bit of good memory to hang on to.

    I’m glad that you had a good time with your friends 🙂

    Fain

  3. Thanks everyone, it really is a special group. Fain – I’m glad I could bring you some good memories. We must cherish those – there’s far too many of the other kind.

Leave a Reply

