Strange dreams

I had the strangest dreams last night – three of them. It’s not just the events in the dreams that are strange, but the fact that they have both literal and figurative interpretations.

In the first dream I received a text message from my therapist. It was casual, like we were in the middle of a conversation. In her message she said something like, “Do you need flowers or [can’t remember], chocolates or [can’t remember]…” Strange. The interwebs tells me that dreams of text messages signify telepathy and a desire to connect with the other person.  That’s true. They also mean I want to get to the point. That’s also true as I have a session today, and a lot to discuss, and I want to get into it, without my therapist phaffing about with a lot of chit chat. 😉

In the second dream (which occurred at the same time and place as the third dream), I dreamt that a friend of mine had to sell her home. Now the literal here is that this friend has recently separated from her husband and wants to keep the home, but doesn’t know yet if this will be possible. In the dream the buyers decided they didn’t want the house afterall, and then decided to move the land and house to another location. Apparently dreams of “disappearing” houses mean I’m not feeling grounded; that I’m feeling uprooted by something in my life. Yep, I am. Actually I’m going to start going to meditation this week in the hope it will help with the grounding. Here’s where this one gets a little complicated. The land the buyers were selling was shaped like a triangle (it isn’t, in real life). Apparently triangles symbolize my aspirations and potential, but also mind, body and spirit.  

In the third dream, another friend of mine (who already has five children of her own), gave birth to five more – quintuplets – as a surrogate mother. One of the real world connections here is that the friend in the second dream and the friend in the third have experienced a rift in their relationship. I think that’s why they both appeared, anyway. The interwebs says that dreams of birth suggest I might be “giving birth” to a new idea, or that there might be new beginnings. Seeing babies also signifies innocence and warmth, something in our own inner nature that is pure, vulnerable or helpless. As these were quintuplets, they were very small, which apparently symbolises my own helplessness and fears of showing my vulnerabilities or incompetence. That’s true, though I can’t pin down why I’d dream of this now.

If I’m to connect these dreams, and the symbolism in them, I come up with this: something about new beginnings in my life that are connected to my aspirations, but feeling vulnerable about this. I’m certainly afraid of failure, and consequently not feeling grounded (it’s almost like I feel controlled by other events). I’ve also recognised recently that my feelings about this are completely normal, and I’ve tried to be gentle on myself – how I’m feeling is just how I’m feeling. It doesn’t mean I’m useless or pathetic or worthless – it’s just how I feel in a given moment and it will, eventually, pass. There’s gotta be some progress in there somewhere, but I’m getting befuddled with all this overanalysis. 😉

One things for sure – the dreams were strange. I’m not stressed by them – just find them curious.

7 thoughts on “Strange dreams

  1. Hi Kerro,

    That last paragraph shows a huge amount of progress and healing… being gentle on yourself rather than letting those false messages of your self-worth taking over… definitely healing. Despite not feeling grounded, it sounds like your doing really positive things to help yourself and make sense of it all… awesome!

    Interesting dreams, although I imagine your friend who already has five children is hoping that your dream about her having quintuplets isn’t too literal – surrogate or not 🙂

    Dreams are indeed curious things. It’s amazing what our brains will do when it thinks we’re not paying attention.

    Take care,
    CG

  2. Once I stopped having nightmares about abuse, did, etc, I began having silly dreams and I love it! I don’t ever go online, and I rarely think they are trying to tell me something, but occasionally, I will share one with T and I find his explainations as interesting as the dreams themselves! Have a great day!

  3. @ Castorgirl – thanks 🙂 The last week I’ve learned a lot about just sitting with feelings and watching what they do, and how they do, eventually, pass. I know the origins of this weren’t positive, but you’re right, the progress and healing that comes from it definitely are. LOL re the quintuplets!!

    @ Ivory – Lucky you having a T who does dream analysis. Alas, mine is all too literal. I find dreams curious, so going online is a *must* for me! LOL

  4. Hi Kerro,

    Sometimes in dreams there are so many ways of looking at something, you don’t see the obvious thing. Each part of a dream can be interpreted as being a part of the person, something to be learned from, and something happening in your own life.

    Okay I will say the obvious, since you didn’t. Four babies. Four babies. Four babies. Four babies. That is a lot of hope inside of you. And also there is the spiritual meaning of four:

    Four: The symbolic meaning of number Four deals with stability and invokes the grounded nature of all things. Consider the four seasons, four directions, four elements all these amazingly powerful essences wrapped up in the nice square package of Four. Fours represent solidity, calmness, and home. A recurrence of Four in your life may signify the need to get back to your roots, center yourself, or even “plant” yourself. Fours also indicate a need for persistence and endurance.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  5. Hi Kerro,

    Sometimes in dreams there are so many ways of looking at something, you don’t see the obvious thing. Each part of a dream can be interpreted as being a part of the person, something to be learned from, and something happening in your own life.

    Okay I will say the obvious, since you didn’t. Five babies. That is a lot of hope inside of you.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  6. Sorry I didn’t mean to put the interpet for four in there, It was a mistake, you clearly wrote five. But for some reason I felt I needed to tell you the meaning of four. Hope it can help you in grounding work.

    Kate

  7. Hi Kate, thanks for your comments. They came through just as I was booking my meditation class for tomorrow, and searching yoga classes in my area! I’ve left all your comments (fours and fives) to remind me of the grounding. I’m feeling so off centre at the moment I really do need to do something. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

