Taking care

We got news yesterday that my mother’s cancer is more advanced than originally thought. It’s not good news, and it’s thrown both Mum and I a little bit. Actually it’s been a week of bad news on one front or another. I’m blaming some weird planetary activity. 😉

On top of the cancer and the myriad appointments I’ve attended with Mum, I’ve had my own health issues to deal with, as well as work, and putting my father in a nursing home, and a job interview (that’s another story) and and and …

Understandably, this has all taken its toll and I’ve been feeling overwhelmed.

I finally made the decision today that something has to give. I chose work. I’m taking a few days off to deal with things. I’m also withdrawing from the job I interviewed for. I’m just not in the space to take on anything new. It’s also likely I’ll need a bit of time off for Mum, and I don’t want to muck them around.

It feels a bit weird this taking control and taking care, but I know it’s a good thing. I hope you’re all sitting down because I’m also planning to get back into my exercise routine, and get healthy foods going for Mum while she stays with me and endures her treatment. Crazy stuff, I know, but that’s what’s happening. 😉

I also had a nap this afternoon, something I do sometimes. I was at a friend’s place and looked at her bed, and realised I just wanted to crawl into it and fall asleep. So I did (in my own bed). Almost unbelievably I slept for three hours. They say stress does funny things, and sleep is a way for the mind and body to regenerate. I’ll be heading back to bed again very soon.

Needless to say the Wonder Therapist was impressed at my care taking. It’s quite nice, really. I think I might even like it. 😉

14 thoughts on “Taking care

  1. (((Kerro)))I’m so sorry about your mother. I am impressed that you are taking care of yourself so well. There are so many different kinds of stress you are dealing with including the difficulties in not knowing how your mother will tolerate and respond to treatment that I am glad you are resting when you can and trying to reduce the issues in other areas of your life.

    Thinking of you,
    Di

  2. Oh – good for you for taking care of yourself! Sorry to hear about the worse news about your mom.

  3. I’m sorry about the news regarding your mother.

    It’s good news you’re actively looking for ways to manage, and minimise the stress you’re exposed to. It’s even better that you’re enjoying it!

    Take care,
    CG

  4. Hi Kerro,

    I’m sorry you both had to go through that. This happened with my mother as well. It was sobering, to say that least, at the time.

    I wanted to let you know something my best friend told me yesterday, in May we are going to be, astrologically speaking, in Jupiter for the next year, which is supposed to be very positive, with lots of good luck and good things for people. Here is to hoping there is something true about all that stuff. 🙂

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  5. Thanks everyone. It’s certainly a new experience to be proactively exercising some self care; a very new space for me to be in. I never realised how exhausting traipsing around hospitals and doctors’ offices can be. Thankfully my body (and mind) are telling me pretty clearly when they want me to rest, and it does feel good. 🙂

    @ Kate – I’m sorry you had to go through this with your mother. I also heard we’re in the midst of some Saturn activity, which apparently can make life hectic and exhausting. I hope you’re right about Jupiter.

  6. I am SO glad that you are taking care of you 🙂 I am sorry to hear about your mother, such a tough experience. 😦

    Sending you hopeful wishes of healing and strength.

    xx

  7. You are doing a wonderful job of caring for yourself! This is an exhausting time, I know. Very overwhelming, and it was a good decision to forgo the job change for now.

    Take care,
    Lothlorien

  8. I am so sorry to hear that your mother’s cancer is more advanced than you thought. Keep taking care of yourself. Rest when you can, and limit change as much as you can. You have enough change going on right now. The “too much changing too fast” was a HUGE obstacle for me! It stressed me out so much. Just take care, ok? Pace yourself and keep practicing good self-care,
    Lothlorien

  9. Thanks Lothlorien – I’m trying, and I’ll keep trying. Funnily enough, the self-care thing gets easier the more you do it. I guess “practice does make perfect” after all.

Leave a Reply

