Expressive Arts Carnival Activity No. 9 – Memoir

This month’s activity for the Expressive Arts Carnival is to:

Write your memoir using only six words and present it as an image.

I found this really useful in helping me to understand and articulate where I am at the moment. Here are some of the “memoirs” I created:

All of these resonated, but didn’t seem quite right. They didn’t seem to quite capture where I am right now, though they’re all true of me at some point over the last couple of years.  And so I came to this, my actual entry, which captures a sense of my past – the idea that for so long I lived for and was defined by others (much like what Castorgirl says), but now it’s time to break that bond and live my life – work out what I want from this funny little thing called life, and go after my dreams. No one else’s; just mine. 🙂 I’ve realised that it doesn’t really matter what that my life looks like, as long as it’s mine and makes me happy – I don’t need to satisfy anyone else, because it is, after all, my life. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival Activity No. 9 – Memoir

  1. Fantastic, Kerro. Ownership of one’s life …it takes a lot to get to that point. It requires both hope and a willingness to take responsibility; those can be tricky to balance together, but I think you’re at the point where the hero’s journey of your own life has a sense of adventure. And that’s a great place to be.

  2. There’s a lot of power and determination in those words… that’s really good to see. A sense of ownership over your own life must be so liberating when you look at where you’ve come from – also gives you a sense of how much work you’ve done to get to this point…

    Take care,
    CG

  3. Hi everyone, thanks for your comments. Yes, it did feel so powerful to hit on that last memoir and realise that’s where I’m at. I’ve never thought of it in terms of “ownership” of my life, but that’s what it is. It is incredibly empowering. 🙂

  4. I really love you memoirs, particularly the last one – but I could relate to each of them at some point or other.

    Your entry is really powerful! Thank you for sharing it. I think its wonderful you are in a place where you can say that

    Take gentle care

  5. I loved seeing the submissions on Paul’s site – so many resonate – and I love all of yours. The first made me laugh – the last made me hope.

Leave a Reply

