Expressive Arts Carnival No 8 – Your Truth

This month’s theme for the Expressive Arts Carnival is:

Through drawing, painting, photograph or any other visual means, create an image of “your truth.” Some ideas you may want to explore are finding your truth, saying your truth, what your truth feels to you, and more. With your entry, also include a couple of sentences saying what the process was like for you.

I’m getting in early this month, as I go away in a few days (again) for a proper holiday this time. The place I’m going to is also my entry for the Carnival. It’s a simple one, but no less relevant to the theme:

I’ve posted this photo before, and others like it, here and here.

This is the place I went to when my life started “falling apart”. It’s the place where I started uncovering my “truth” – peeling back the layers on my onion of abuse. It’s also the place where I started discovering who I am, and the place where I started healing.

I love this place because of its physical beauty, but also because of what it represents to me. It is my spiritual home.

The Carnival doesn’t close until 21st February and is open to all survivors. It’s a great privilege for me to be part of this, and lots of fun, so I encourage everyone to enter! Details on how to enter can be found here.

6 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival No 8 – Your Truth

  1. Have fun getting back in touch with the ocean, nature and all things good.

    A very apt addition to the carnival… it’s in those safe places with meaning that we find ourselves and it’s possible to see so much more.

    Take care,
    CG

  2. Thank you for submitting this Kerro. It’s a wonderful picture (especially when seen from the context that I am inundated with snow here in New England).

  3. Thanks Castorgirl and Paul – I so so love this place. Somehow it brings my innerself back to me. It helps me feel calm and peaceful and more “me” than I am anywhere else.

    Now, if I could just use that magic to make the sun come out EVERY day… LOL 🙂

  4. This is such a beautiful picture Kerro. The way you describe its significance to you is also lovely, I’m glad that it represents so much of what is meaningful to you. I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  5. I openly groaned with pleasure when I looked at your picture. I didn’t enter this exercise because I don’t know what my truth is. This one completely stumped me!

Leave a Reply

