Reflections on 2010

I like New Year about as much as I like Christmas. I’m glad the hoopla is finally over and I can shift into something resembling normal for the year. A couple of my bloggy friends have done a “year in review”, so thought I’d give this a whirl. 2010 was a big year for me and another bloggy friend reminded me that as survivors, we tend not to acknowledge our achievements nearly often enough. So here I am.

Some of my biggest (tangible) achievements:

  • Changing jobs – twice. Getting the hell away from that awful boss I had, and then getting a brand new job in a brand new sector.
  • Giving the whole relationships and dating thing a whirl. This wasn’t the big success I had hoped it would be, but it was an achievement for me to saddle up again. I learned a lot about myself in the process. Perhaps my biggest achievement was standing up for myself in The Great Leap Forward. 🙂
  • Taking holidays – several of them – and believing I deserved them 🙂
  • Doing group therapy, which saw my healing move forward in leaps and bounds. I met some amazing people, learned a lot about myself and realised (even finally believed) that I’m not alone driving the survivor highway. I also even believed that I’m one of those “amazing” people – I’ll never forget the day the Wonder Therapist looked at me and said, “now do you see what I see?” (umm, not really, but kind of LOL)
  • Health – this has been a really mixed bag for me, as I’ve had two rounds of surgery to endure and various other health issues. I’m listing it as an achievement, though, because I’m learning (slowly) to address health issues. I even went to the dentist for no apparent reason, other than a general check up! 🙂

I’ve also made many smaller, less tangible steps forward – wearing skirts, for example, as well as heels again. I’ve used public transport – for years a surefire way to a panic attack. And I’ve been out, at night, and discovered I’m not nearly as afraid of the dark as I once was. 🙂 I’m also not as scared of being stuck in a lift, and have sat in the middle of rows at the theatre without panicking. 🙂 I’m also starting to learn how to listen to my body – when it’s hungry, when it’s tired, or in pain. I’m still not great at this one, but I’m learning.

Of course, the year has had its ups and downs, with continued triggers that spin me out of control sometimes. The Wonder Therapist says “that’s what life is like” – it’s completely normal to have ups and downs. I did notice that sometimes the downs have come from me taking on too much leaving me vulnerable, mentally and physically. I’m guessing there’s a lesson in self-care in there – perhaps that’s a job for 2011? 😉

I’ve also continued to have struggles with my family – especially my mother, though at times I’ve been able to see the family dysfunctions from a distance and maintain (or at least try to) my own “self”. I’m  learning to accept my father’s bad behaviour: not accepting the unacceptable, but accepting that it’s *his* behaviour, and nothing to do with me. Nothing I do can change it, or make it better. He is the abusive a$$hat that he is, and that is no reflection on me at all. That’s progress for me, too. 🙂

One area that doesn’t feel so much like an achievement is that I still feel quite distant from “me” – from the person my therapist described here. That person still doesn’t feel like me, even though I *know* it is, and even though I wrote – and believed – posts like this one.

One thing that’s really helped me is the Expressive Arts Carnival (you can see all my entries here). I’ve loved the activities and the encouragement to do things creative. They’ve helped me think about things differently, and get in touch with different parts of me.

I’ve also learned to more consciously drawn on my lessons in therapy, and the blogosphere – as you all saw in my Christmas survival post, just this week. 🙂

My favourite posts for 2010 – and by chance also the most popular – were these:

Thanks for being with me in 2010 peeps, and I look forward to sharing 2011 with you! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Reflections on 2010

  1. What a lovely post Kerro. 🙂 It’s hard to remember the ups midst the downs. I like the fact that you came up with so many tangible achievements.

    I need to do some thinking on my own about this.

  2. This is awesome Kerro… you’ve accomplished so much this past year.
    I also really like LSC’s idea about the Sun book, I might give it a go 🙂

    Take care and all the best for the coming year,
    CG

  3. @ OLJ – thank you. It was important to me to focus on the positives in this… too often I tend to slump about in the basement, and that isn’t a good reflection of things as they are, nor is it good for my psyche!

    @ Ivory – I’m glad I could bring you some hope. There is always hope, though I understand it’s sometimes hard to see.

    @ CG – Thanks. I hope you have the bestesty year ever in 2011!! 🙂

    @ Sanity – thanks. 🙂

  4. Kerro. So glad you like the Expressive Arts Carnival. So many gains here. Good for you. Be gentle with yourself on the getting to know yourself piece. That will come. It just takes time and you are doing what you need to do. Happy New Year!

  5. What an awesome post! I really enjoyed reading about yoir achirvements. I have to say that I remember the post you wrote on the great leap of faith. That was one of my favorites. You are doing big things in your life, things that require courage, strength, trust, and belief in yourself. Awesome!
    Lothlorien

  6. Thanks Lothlorien – sometimes I take a look at myself and can’t believe it, even wonder who the h*ll I am doing all this stuff. LOL

Leave a Reply

