Expressive Arts Carnival Activity No. 6

The theme for this month’s Arts Carnival activity is open – as Paul says, “any survivor art is welcome!”

I took a photo last night of a Christmas decoration. I think it’s beautiful. I had hoped to photograph it nestling in feathers, or something soft, but with everything else that’s happening this week I haven’t been able to make that happen.

I love this decoration. For me, it speaks to everything I want Christmas to be – beautiful, happy and, well, “normal”. Everything it isn’t at the moment. I’m trying to maintain hope that one day I can create the kind of Christmas I’ve always wanted. I’m still missing a few ingredients for that at the moment, but I try to hang onto the hope. My religious colleagues tell me that’s what this time of year is about – the hope of a better future. Captures my Christmas wish, that’s for sure. As well as the idea of “healing” for all of us survivors here, I think.

4 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival Activity No. 6

  1. It’s a beautiful decoration Kerro, and a beautiful hope for the future. You’ve already made great steps towards getting the Christmas you’re dreaming of… you’re determined and strong enough to make the rest of it possible too 🙂

    Take care,
    CG

  2. You are right Kerro. This is beautiful! I sincerely hope someday you get to a place where Christmas is what you want it to be, what you deserve it to be…

Leave a Reply

