Catching up

It’s been ages since my last post. I’m still here, trying to catch up on bloggy things, and life things. I started my new job two weeks ago, and everything’s just been a blur. Most days have left me almost comatose and flopping about like a dead fish.

The good news is that I’m really enjoying my new job. 🙂 The people are delightful (if a little zealous on the religious front – not that that’s a bad thing, I’m just not used to it). They’re very warm, welcoming, friendly, and helpful. They even had a “welcome lunch” for me on my first day. AND – I nearly died – I had a desk, computer, email account and phone ready and waiting for me on Day 1!! The organisation has a really good orientation program, and seems to really have some basics sorted. I’m learning lots and I feel challenged (in a good way)… I think I’d even go so far as to say I’m having fun. I’m a whole new person!

Extra good news is that friends and the Wonder Therapist have noticed what a remarkable change this had made in me. If I’d known the shift was going to be this good, I would have done it years ago! 😀

Needless to say this has helped put me in a good space for the last few weeks. Some darker clouds wandered in this weekend. Nothing serious, I just feel sad. I’m still figuring out what that’s about.

Can I just say, if I haven’t before, that life is so much BETTER, so much EASIER, when you’re in a good space – even the banal things, like the ironing. Much, much better. 🙂

I’ll leave you with another photo from my holiday (I’m still trying to sort the rest). It’s nothing special, but it was so nice sitting under those trees having dinner. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. Glad to have an update! I’m glad you’re having a good experience with the the career shift and I can relate to having things go a lot easier (even ironing and laundry) when you feel better. Cheers to the shift!

  2. I’m so glad to hear that everything is going so well. Congrats on the positive move to your new job. Glad there are nice people there. Nice people make all the difference.

    Love the photo – fairy lights are always special, in my book.

  3. This is so good to read 🙂 I’m sorry about the sadness, but it sounds like you’re in a better place to deal with it and work it through…

    In a couple of more weeks you’ll have really hit your stride in the new job, and it will feel a whole lot more comfortable, and less like the flopping about bit 🙂

    Still questioning your dedication to ironing… love ya, but don’t understand it at all. Mind you, I have a job where wearing clothes which require ironing is considered a barrier to interacting with our customers.

    Take care,
    CG

  4. Yay, what a wonderful post to read! I’m so pleased for you!

    I’m with castorgirl regarding the ironing. I hate ironing. I never iron. Thankfully, this means I also don’t buy or wear clothes that need ironing. 🙂

    Hugs for your sadness,

    xx

  5. Thanks everyone, for your kind words.

    @ Castorgirl and Same Sky – I do like ironing. I find it restful, calming, almost cathartic. That said, i think ironing is pretty optional at my new workplace. I’ll have to rethink. 🙂

    The sadness is still there, and it’s starting to chip away at my new found confidence. I don’t like it one bit. 😦

  6. The sadness is still there, and it’s starting to chip away at my new found confidence. I don’t like it one bit.

    If you can, think of it as a guide rather than as an impediment. These “negative” feelings are the best compasses we have to point us to where we are still hurt, and where we most need to focus. The tough part is losing that diffuse feeling of depression, and homing in on where the wound is. Our minds and hearts sometimes want to keep us in that less-useful fog, because hey, getting to those wounds isn’t fun.

    I would have gone crazy several times over by now, from getting into positive situations and then having negative stuff come up, had I not started to see it as a signpost rather than as something actually negative. It helped to remove the self-criticism of “oh, you can’t even be happy about the good things in your life.” The self-criticism tended to distract from where the signpost was actually pointing me toward, if you know what I mean.

  7. @ David – you’re absolutely right. I know there’s stuff going on inside, and I have a fair idea what it is, I’m just resisting processing it and dealing with it. I don’t want to cry and end up all messy, even if that’s probably what I need in order to process. Unhelpful, I know. Not sure how to proceed from here, aside from visit the Wonder Therapist who won’t let me get away with anything. LOL

    @ CG – you’re as nuts as I am LOL 😉

Leave a Reply

