Expressive Arts Carnival: Two Colours

I love the Expressive Arts Carnival! Thank you, Paul! I so enjoy the creativity, and the prompt for creativity. This month’s activity was:

On a white or black background, choose two (and only two) colors and make a painting that represents where you have been mentally for the past week or so. Feel free to use digital (e.g., Photoshop, electronic painting program) or analog techniques (e.g., paint, watercolor, colored pencils, markers).

I knew what I was going to do as soon as I read the instructions. It was only the colours I wasn’t sure about, but they jumped at me when I went to the paint box. Here’s my entry*:

I started with blue and yellow drops of paint, and I worked with them until they merged in a pattern and colour that said something about my week.

For me the colours are symbolic of the dark and light that dwell within. Sometimes it feels like they fight for prominence, just as the dots fight for attention on the page. And the greens that emerged, well, they represent a whole lot of things.

For me the purpose of blending them was to (a) see what happened, and (b) represent my healing journey, focussing on a week or so. At times it’s like finding a way to channel the darkness in a productive way, and bring it together with my new found lightness to form a “new” me, so to speak. In painting, as in life, I didn’t know what was going to happen when I moved the paper in different ways, but something good emerged – new patterns, new colours and new connections I’m making, both internally and externally, even though technically there are only two colours there.

If you’ve been reading, you’ll know that I finished my job this week. This is a huge watershed in my life, and in my healing. The old job (or at least the old organisation) was slowly but surely sucking the life out of me, but I felt stuck; so stuck that I was unable to see a way out. Thankfully the Wonder Therapist is ever the optimist and helped me see a way I could do other things – I do have skills and I can use them in other areas, and other ways.

The shades of green make me hopeful that I’m doing the right thing. 🙂

***

* The original photo looked all noisy. Not because of the camera, but because of the painting itself. Thanks to Paul for the enhancement!

6 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival: Two Colours

  1. That’s lovely. Both the painting and what it means to you. I could relate to what you wrote. I’m so glad for you that you’re feeling hopeful 🙂

  2. This is a stunning piece of work Kerro… and so different from your last entry in the carnival which was all about black and white! This time there’s colour and shades and blending of colours… the pattern is less controlled and freer… such a contrast!

    And to make it even betterer, the image is a little like a Rorschach test… it’s amazing what you can see in it and interpret from it.

    I hope you have a great holiday, and come back ready for the new opportunities represented by the green shading 🙂

    Take care
    CG

  3. @ Ink Puddle – thank you, I hope your week was a good one. 🙂

    @ Katie – Thanks, I’m glad there’s some hope as well. Such a contrast to the darkness that hung over me a few weeks ago.

    @ Castor Girl – Funny, I struggled with this because it wasn’t “perfect” – not that my previous images were perfect, by any means. But this one, as you point out, is freer… no crisp lines, no sharpness. I like it, but I struggle with it at the same time.

    Re the Rorschach, do you see the double rainbows that I see??? 😉

    Thanks for your good wishes for my holiday, too.

Leave a Reply

