Farewells

I’m finishing up my current job in a couple of days. Ordinarily that would feel a little scary for me (ok, a LOT scary), but it doesn’t this time around. I’m not sure why. Perhaps because reality about the change hasn’t set in, or may be because I’ve got my little holiday to look forward to at the end of the week. May be even it’s because this change, despite its enormity, is sitting “right” with me. Who knows?

I had farewell drinks with my colleagues on Friday. It was lovely. I’ve been with my current employer for quite a long time, so lots of people came, from the past and the present. We had lots of laughs, and I admit I got pretty hammered (in a good way). It was fun. I even stood up for myself and put my ex-boss back in his box a few times. It felt GREAT. 🙂

Quite a lot of the people there were from former teams. People who used to work for me. We got to chatting and a number of them mentioned how they still think about me at work. In a good way, I mean. How, when they’re doing a particular piece of work, they use some of the tools I taught them. And when they’re grappling with something, they think about how I might tackle it, and that helps them move forward. And even when they’re thinking about jobs and careers and things, they think back to conversations we had years ago.

In all honesty, I was dumb-founded. I guess in work, as in life, I’ve always thought I was a boil on the face of humanity. I never thought of myself as someone who influenced other people positively, or shaped their work lives. It was strange to hear different. I really didn’t know what to say.

I’ve been mulling over this for a couple of days and I’m still dumb-founded. I’m very flattered, of course. It makes me feel all smiley inside, even if I don’t quite understand it. It gave me a much needed boost. I’m hoping I can take some of that feeling with me to the new job. 🙂

In other news I visited a cattery yesterday to see if it would be a suitable holiday spot for my kitty while I’m on my own holiday. While there I saw a little kitty like this one. I am completely and utterly BESOTTED. So much so that I think my own kitty might need a playmate. 😀

15 thoughts on “Farewells

  1. Ohhhh cats like that are evil… they are basement cats in disguise… they’re all cute and sweetness and… oh man, those eyes… Could they ever do anything wrong? Then there’s the softness… and the grooming… too cute. *sigh*… I want one too!!

    Good on you for putting your old sexist boss in his place 🙂
    I’m glad you’ve had that external recognition of your worth and value to those around you. It’s easy to forget that we do make an impact… and even easier to forget that the impact could be positive!

    Did I mention the blue eyes… the cute “I can do no wrong” eyes???

    Take care,
    CG

  2. LOL You should have seen him sauntering up and down, smooching the sides of his pen, staring longingly at me, hoping for a cuddle. Too too adorable! Apparently there’s not a lot of grooming as the hair on these ones doesn’t matt, like other long hairs. Shame, that. 😉

    And they have cute little white paws, such a contrast to the smoky brown, like the froth on a coffee or something.

    And then there’s those eyes. Oh my. Too too lovely for words. 🙂

    The external recognition is too freaky, I’m not sure what to make of it. So, umm, yea, those eyes… 😉

  3. I’m glad you had such a good farewell and that you’ve received so many positive feedbacks 🙂
    Hold it in memory. It will help! 🙂
    Ohhh.. and this cat is really lovely. These blue eyes are really stunning 🙂
    Take care LSC

  4. It was worth quitting just to get all that lovely feedback! I’m glad the change still feels right — it seems like a very good thing to get away from that awful boss.

  5. Been on vacation and out of the blogosphere – happy for you! Let us know about the cat – what a cutie!

    OLJ

  6. @ Lost Shadow Child – Thanks. Aren’t the blue eyes just divine? 🙂

    @ David – yep, you’re right. May be I should quit more often so I get to hear the feedback more often? It’s weird, the change must feel right or I’m just completely out of touch with how I feel. I can’t tell you how good it felt to stand up to that awful boss. 😀

    @ OLJ – Welcome back! I hope you had a nice break. The cat, mmm, I don’t know. But I do WANT one. 😉

  7. Sounds like a great time on Friday. Interesting what David said about having to quit to find out what people think about you. That’s true in a lot of areas in life, you never know how people feel about you until they find out you won’t be there anymore. That’s an eye-opener.

  8. You won’t “get the pony with that” but you might get a kitty? 🙂 I saw your comment about ordinary rubberbands in your therapist’s hair on “everybody needs therapy.” I actually bought some nice hair bands for the piano player at my little church hoping that she’d appreciate the thoughtful gift. I love to do things like that. However, this little lady LIKED to use rubberbands from the newspaper and wasn’t shy in saying that she was quite satisfied with her routine. I always smile when I see her choice…broken hairs and all.

    Sorry I don’t have a blog….

  9. @ Harriet – it’s not so much the finding out what people think of me, I should have known I wasn’t the bane of their existence. It’s another example of my old views of myself being proven wrong, again.

    @ Michal Ann – thanks for dropping by. 🙂 I’m shuddering at the thought of all those broken hairs, ugh. What a lovely thing for you to do, buying her nice hair bands, even if she prefers broken hair!

  10. Hi kerro 🙂 I’m so happy for you that you had such a great farewell experience. Sounds very empowering and reassuring. I hope your vacation goes really well and that you are able to enjoy your flight. And what a sweet cat! I think that type of cat is supposed to be the most affectionate. Sounds like it from what you said so far. Wishing you well!! 🙂

  11. Kerro, how wonderful to have everyone say such kind and meaningful things to you. What a great way to finish the job! I am super excited that you have a nice relaxing vacation coming up – you definitely deserve it. I love the kitty picture 🙂

  12. It’s so good that this leaving is positive for you. What a strong position to step forward from. That cat is cute!

  13. @ Sanity – I agree, a great way to finish up the job (and a long career in that sector). Thank you. T minus 48 hours for the vacation. 🙂

    @ Cat – Funny how the leaving has been more positive than my last couple of years at that organisation. I’m soooooo glad to be out of there, though I will miss many of the good people. 🙂

  14. Pingback: Expressive Arts Carnival: Two Colours « Kerro's Korner

Leave a Reply

