I’m a fountain

I’m back, sort of. I’m out of hospital and at home recovering, though my head is still fuzzy, and I’m still feeling exhausted and pretty sore. The surgery went well – the pain I had last week has gone, and now I’m just resting and recovering.

One thing went slightly amiss after surgery. I had been to the bathroom and turned around to get into bed when I suddenly sprung a leak. I was a fountain. Quite literally! It was momentarily unnerving but also kind of funny. There was talk of sending me back to theatre, but the surgeon was able to stitch me up without that, thank goodness.

So, I’m home. My mother is staying with me this week, which is actually really nice.

Thank you all for your kind wishes for my recovery – I’ll do my best to respond to your emails and catch up on blogs over the next few days, if the blur in my head will let me. 😉

18 thoughts on “I’m a fountain

  1. I’m glad surgery went well and you are home recovering. Scary stuff though I’m glad your leak was fixed easily.

    di

  2. i’m glad your pain is gone and you’re home recovering~ take good care and rest well!

    wishing you peaceful healing!

  3. I’m not sure I get it? A leak as in pee (lol!) or you had stitches break and there was blood? I don’t know if I want to really know…but so glad the pain of the week prior is gone.

  4. Thanks everyone.

    Sanity – I sprung a leak as in dropped a stitch. There was fluid and blood all over the place because the surgeon had filled my tummy with a litre and a half of some special liquid that is meant to stop adhesions from forming. It doesn’t sound funny, but it looked pretty funny.

  5. Love the picture! Your post made me smile. You have such a wonderful sense of humor. I hope that your recovery goes well and you are feeling better soon.

    I have been reading a lot of your previous posts as I just stumbled upon your site. Castorgirl recommended your blog to me, and I’m glad. You write very well, very expressively, and I can greatly identify! I will add you to my blogroll soon. Can’t right now as I am surfing on the iPhone. Not so easy on this thing.

    Anyway, hope you’re all better soon!

    Take care,
    Lothlorien

  6. @ Phoenix, Kate and Marie – thank you. 🙂

    @ Lothlorien – thank you. I’m glad Castorgirl flicked you my way 🙂

  7. Just read the others’ comments. I thought you meant pee too! LOL I guess it was the picture that kids to that conclusion. That sounds scary to have popped a stitch. I think I would’ve freaked out.

    Take care.

  8. LMAO Lothlorien – no. No pee. Just popped stitches (or bandaids, as there wasn’t actually a stitch there). Had I not been full of anaesthetic and pain killers I probably would have freaked out, too. LOL Looking back I probably should have freaked out given the flurry of nurses running about, talking about theatre, talking about covering me in sand bags like in a real *flood* and mopping up the mess with towels!! Good ol’ drugs… gotta luv them sometimes. 😉

Leave a Reply

