Expressive Arts Carnival – Internal World

This month’s Expressive Arts Carnival activity is to portray your inner world in an abstract form. Like others I thought I’d struggle with the abstract, though once I got my head around it I think I did ok.

I’ve been doing a bit of drawing lately, so having what part of me sees as “homework” always gets things moving.

Before I show you my entry for the Carnival, here are a couple of other pieces I played with.

These first ones were just an attempt to get me drawing freehand. In a tribute to the great abstract artists, I call the first one “Chickens” and the second “Graffiti”:

 

Anyway, here is my submission. I know the due date isn’t for a while but given surgery and all I’m not sure when I’ll be up to trying something else.

To me this represents my eternal quest for balance – balance between the light and the dark; the good and the bad; the emotional, physical and spiritual. I haven’t got there (yet) but I keep trying. Sometimes, no matter how hard I try, I never seem to get there. It’s a never ending struggle, each competing with the other for prominence.

The lightness tries to spread its wings and counter the darkness, but the darkness is always there, lying in wait, sneaking up on me and my light side to GRAB me just when I don’t need it to.

The use of black and white is no coincidence. My internal world is very black and white; there’s no colour at all. I’m trying to counter my black and white thinking but the internal world is still monochrome.

10 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival – Internal World

  1. These are stunning Kerro…
    It’s interesting how you see the struggle between the black and white…
    I hope the surgery goes smoothly and you have a quick recovery 🙂
    Take care,
    CG

  2. Thanks CG. It’s funny because the whole time I thought about doing this, I knew that my internal world was black and white… yet I played with colour.

    Thanks also for your good wishes for surgery. Fingers crossed!

    ((hugs))

  3. These are great — I love how in the last one, there’s a place where the strands intertwine … if they keep doing that, they’ll get shades of gray. 🙂

  4. hi kerro~

    i love your pieces and can really relate to the meaning behind the third one. i feel the same way. lots of black and white thinking, striving for balance, and feeling like that dark side is everpresent…

    read your last posts too. it’s been a busy week for me and i’m just now starting to get back to reading. but i have been wishing you well all along. i’m glad to hear you are feeling better, that you have good support and thinking going on. sounds like the pain has started to ease some. that’s great.

    and good luck on your surgery! goodness, as if you didn’t have enough going on already.

    i’ll be thinking of you and sending wishes for your healing and inner peace~~~

  5. @ Sanity – thanks. 🙂

    @ David – funny how you see the strands intertwining to make grey. I drew it that way because to me it represents how the dark side always seems to reach out and try to pull the light under. But, you’re right, even if there is this pulling, they could still make grey.

    @ Katie – thanks, I’m glad you like my scribbles. Yea, there’s a lot going on. I’ll update shortly. Thanks for your good wishes.

  6. I shudder the thought of me being associated with assigning homework!!!

    But, I hope you got something out of it.

    It’s very interesting that there are similarities among all three… but that you chose the black and white one to submit.

    I like them all.. but the second one speaks to me the most, with different parts and forms hidden behind others.

    Very nice, all of them.

  7. @ Paul – LOL. I never minded homework. It still clicks something into gear in my head and I comply. LOL I most definitely got something out of this activity – I loved it, thank you!

    I’m interested in what similarities you see between the images?

    I chose the black and white one because that’s how my internal world is. Very black and white. There’s no colour in there. It sneaks in occasionally – like when I got to the symphony – but otherwise it’s completely monochrome.

Leave a Reply

