Expressive arts carnival: Music

Music brings me peace. It helps me feel calm. It helps my troubles melt away. And it brings me joy.

When I’m at the symphony, as I was on Friday, it’s like nothing else exists: it’s just me and the music. I become one with it – with the music, the instruments, the orchestra. Their beauty; their talent; their magic. It’s so beautiful, so peaceful and so calming.

Here I’ve captured some of my favourite things about music – my favourite composers, pieces, instruments – and also how they make me feel. I’ve loved classical music since I was a little kid. I can remember sitting on the floor at my grandmother’s house, leafing through her albums and playing them over and over and over again. My mother thought I was weird. Now I know the love of music just skipped a generation!

As I write this post, and as I made the word cloud, I’ve been listening to this album. It is beauty and calm personified.

This is my contribution to the Expressive Arts Carnival being hosted by Paul over at Mind Parts. What a lovely idea, thank you Paul. You’ve helped me put words to what music does for me.

9 thoughts on “Expressive arts carnival: Music

  1. Kerro –
    Love the word cloud. I share your love of music – it can energize, comfort, calm and at times make me melancholic.

    Do you play an instrument or sing? (other than in the shower)

    OLJ

  2. LOL @ OLJ – Unfortunately I am completely talentless (and tone deaf) when it comes to singing and playing! I don’t even do it in the shower! Though I did suffer through many years of piano lessons as a child…

    I’m glad we share a love of music. It’s so special. 🙂

  3. So I take it we won’t be hearing a sound bite of you singing anytime soon then, huh? 🙂

    I can’t imagine a world without music… I have three playlists at work – soft, LOUD and classic; each does different things for me… I can lose myself in calming softness, or release pent-up emotion with the LOUD collection.

    Have you read Paul from MindParts entry Music and Heart Healing which has excerpts from a Karl Paulnack speech about the importance of music, art and the expressive talents? It’s a brilliant speech… check it out if you have the time.

    Take care,
    CG

  4. I like your word cloud and the links too. I love some classical music too. On the album you’ve been listening to is one of my favourite pieces of music of all time – the intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana. I like music that seems, to me, to reflect what living in this world is like – a mixtures of sadness, hope, painful and beautiful encounters.

  5. @ CG – definitely no sound bytes from me!! I have multiple playlists as well – some to calm me, some to motivate and some just because. Thanks for the links, I’ll check them out 🙂

    @ Suzanne – thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you like the music 🙂

  6. Great Kerro. I’ll put this up when I make the Carnival. Yours and mine are both about music. Except yours has feelings attached and mine doesn’t. Thank you!

  7. beautiful. music is a huge source of calming for me as well. i know exactly what you mean about being one with the music. thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

