Self-love

A few weeks ago the Strong One brought a little book to Group. It’s called “When I loved myself enough” by Kim McMillen. It’s filled with “wisdom” on filling our lives with self-love and with peace and joy.

Before you vomit, it’s actually just a book of nice little quotes. Literary genius they probably aren’t, but they are helpful, at least they have been for me. Here are some of my favourites.

When I loved myself enough, I began leave whatever wasn’t healthy. This meant people, jobs, my own beliefs and habits – anything that kept me small. My judgement called it disloyal. Now I see it as self-loving.

When I loved myself enough, I learned to stop what I am doing, if even for a moment, and comfort that part of me that is scared.

When I loved myself enough, I gave up perfectionism – that killer of joy.

When I loved myself enough, I quit rehashing the past and worrying about the future which keeps me in the present where aliveness lives.

When I loved myself enough, I learned to ask ‘Who in me is feeling this way?’ when I feel anxious, angry, restless or sad. If I listen patiently I discover who needs my love.

When I loved myself enough, I quit exhausting myself by trying so hard.

When I loved myself enough, I quit having to be right which makes being wrong meaningless.

When I loved myself enough, I quit wishing my life looked some other way and began to see that as it is, my life serves my evolution.

When I loved myself enough, I began feeling such relief.

5 thoughts on “Self-love

  1. Hi. I’m glad I’ve found your blog. It’s funny – this kind of thing – the quotes above – make me squirm a little but I too find them helpful. I hope one day to be able to say almost all of them with no problem at all!

  2. those are great! some of my barriers to self-love have been a fear of being self-absorbed and also just feeling like i didn’t deserve it. only focusing on my flaws, living in perfectionism, feelings of worthlessness, expecting rejection, etc.

    i think i always heard “self-love” is important, but didn’t take it that seriously. finally, i think i just got tired of how my self-deprecation and negative assumptions interfere with my life and make me feel awful. i’m trying to be more self-loving these days, more than anything, out of necessity. and i was tired of needing other people to help me feel better about myself.

    thanks for passing along the word about the book. it sounds good.

Leave a Reply

