Nablopomo Now

I saw the theme for Nablopomo this month is “Now”. This seemed relevant to me, and to my healing, on so many levels, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

The first thing that came to mind when I thought about the theme was “mindfulness”, which so many people talk about in so many contexts.

I thought immediately of the Back Up Therapist saying I should enjoy the present: “So, if you’re in London, you should enjoy London – not spend your time wishing you were in Paris.”

Good point. In the context of my session, what the Back Up Therapist meant was that I should enjoy my current job for what it is and for what it gets me in terms of lifestyle and flexibility, even if as a job it’s boring and not challenging or stimulating and really just pretty d@mned tedious.

True. So here we are. Now.

Another little thing the Nablopomoers are doing this month is offering daily writing prompts. Today’s is:

When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

In a rare moment of what the Wonder Therapist once said is disgustingly normal, I wanted to be a doctor – so I could help people; nurture and care for them. And when I got a bit older, I wanted to be a model. The glamour part is apparently disgustingly normal for little girls, though my rationale was that if I was beautiful then people would love me and not hurt me.

Stay tuned and I’ll see if I can find more to say about “Now” over the coming month 😉

6 thoughts on “Nablopomo Now

  1. Me too because I love Nablopomo. So many interesting things come out of it. I’m glad all is right will the world today.

    di

  2. You did awesome with this last year, and this topic looks really interesting.

    I also wanted to be a doctor or vet to help people. But then I realised that things I was trying to help might not live, so changed to horticulture – no one usually cries if a plant dies 🙂

Leave a Reply

