Not crap

I learnt something important this week. Actually I learnt a few things, but this will do for starters.

I learnt that just because you don’t like something that I like – say, a book or a movie, for example – that doesn’t make it “crap”.

All my life my parents have criticised things that I like – things they don’t like – as being “crap”. Of course, I have taken their views on as a personal criticism.

I’m learning that we can all like different things, without any of those things being “crap”.

Some people like cats; some people like dogs. Some people like comedy movies; some people like drama or animation or … whatever. It doesn’t really matter what people like – they like what they like, and that’s ok. None of it is inherently “crap”. And even if it is, that doesn’t make me “crap” by association.

In unrelated news it’s hot here. And I mean HOT. It got to +44C today, which I think it something like 118 in the old money. The flowers in my back garden that normally look like this:

 

Now look like this:

 

😦

7 thoughts on “Not crap

  1. @ Paul – it is so hard. So very very hard, particularly when those judgements are so ingrained. Well done for trying!

    @ Harriet – Yes, it is hard to get over. Is this one of those times when you might ask yourself “am I misinterpreting this situation?” I know, pots and kettles. I should learn to listen to my own advice sometimes.

    @ Sanity – We sure are in the midst of summer. The flower will come back but I’m not sure about the rest of us… it was still +38C (106F) at 1am. We didn’t get below 30C (90F) last night. Blah.

  2. Hi Kerro,

    A good lesson learned. You are right. I live in that kind of family as well and because many of them agreed and they think that their opinions are the accurate and true ones, I have always ended up being judged by extension, no matter what the topic. It takes a lot to get to the point you are at. Great job. Good for you. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

Leave a Reply

