The magic of therapy

A while ago I wrote about not feeling like a girl, and wanting to wear a pretty dress, to feel beautiful and special. Something odd has happened since then.

Yesterday my anxiety and pain levels were through the roof so I made a dash to the chemist (drug store). On the way I stopped by this great little clothing store near work. I came out with two (more) skirts and a pair of pants (trousers).

Skirts? Me?

Yep. I’ve bought a skirt or two and I’ve been wearing them. I even LIKE wearing them.

Ok, they’re long and not revealing at all, but I’m enjoying them. I now have four or five in my wardrobe. I still don’t really feel “beautiful” or “special” but I like the skirts. I feel good in the skirts.

I still don’t understand how these things happen. I guess it’s just part of the “magic” of therapy – things that once seemed impossible are now not only possible, but even enjoyable. 🙂

10 thoughts on “The magic of therapy

  1. I have a big smile on my face… Good on you!! Wear whatever feels good for you. I’m glad you can wear a skirt… try them out and see how you feel. One step at a time 🙂

    Take care,
    CG

  2. @ CG – Thank you, I smile too every time I wear a skirt. Yay me! 🙂

    @ David – thank you, that’s very kind of you to remember. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

  3. Too cool. Good for you. Way to go.

    I was reading this book called Buffalo Woman Comes Singing and the healer author says that women who wear skirts will have less of their personal power blocked. She said she didn’t know why that was, just thought that it had something to do with femininity and personal power, so she only wore skirts and dresses. Anyway I started wearing more beach type dresses and I did notice a difference. I just felt different. Guess now I have to find some more for wearing here in California.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  4. Thanks Kate, had I not born witness to this phenomenon I would not have believed it. Now, having worn a skirt a few times, I not only believe it but I KNOW it to be true.

    I’m glad you are a happy skirt wearer too! 🙂

  5. Thanks SWD. I’m glad I’m not the only one for whom this therapy thing seems “magical” sometimes. It is a good thing. Take care.

  6. Pingback: Searching for safety « Kerro’s Korner

  7. Pingback: 10 good things about falling apart « Kerro’s Korner

  8. Pingback: PTSD Survivors Speak: 10 Good Things About Falling Apart | PTSD Guest Post: Survivors Speak | Heal My PTSD | Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) symptoms, PTSD causes, PTSD treatment and PTSD support information in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.

Leave a Reply

