Something to be proud of

I’m so proud of myself today. The day started off quite badly, but ended up well.

I gave a speech at a colleague’s farewell function. You have to understand this is a BIG deal for me – I hate public speaking. I mean really L O A T H E it. I’ve always got so incredibly ridiculously nervous and looked (or at last felt) like a complete idiot.

I did a good job today. A short speech in front of about 50 people. I was funny, engaging and I was reasonably relaxed (for me). I even got a couple of compliments afterwards.

I’m so proud I did this. Yay me! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Something to be proud of

  1. Good for you. You are wonderful. Glad that others saw you the way your online friends see you all the time.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  2. Thanks so much everyone. I still feel really pleased with myself for this. A number of other people came up to me today to tell me what a good job I’d done. It felt great. And it felt great to face a fear 🙂

    Thank you again.

  3. Only in that the ability to very smoothly and effortlessly do something you normally have great difficulty with means that you are in some sort of zone, or flow, or however you want to describe it… great for you!

  4. Ah yes, that makes sense now. Thanks for clarifying. I won’t say this was “smooth” or “effortless” for me, but I did it. And I did well. I’m still smiling about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

