Show and tell

Hello again. It feels a little weird blogging again after a break, even if it was just a short one. There’s so much I want to write about, yet still not quite sure where to begin. I almost feel like I’ve lost the knack of writing, so I’ll start with the easy stuff, and share my holiday with you. The “fun” stuff can come later.

So… eight days in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland. It’s a lovely area. The weather was hot (and humid – bleuch) – just perfect for snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef, walking on the beach, eating ice cream and lazing by the pool.

I won’t bore you with a day-by-day account of my trip, but will share a couple of my favourite spots:

Cape Tribulation – where the Daintree Rainforest meets the Great Barrier Reef. A beautifully peaceful stretch of pristine white sand, surrounded by lush tropical rainforest. Absolutely magnificent.

Cape Trib beach

Great Barrier Reef – stunning islands, crisp blue waters filled with beautiful corals and sea turtles and fishies. Beautiful beyond imagining. I even went snorkelling which, for me at least, is quite adventurous. I loved it! I didn’t so much love the storm that came up and rocked our lovely catamaran into 30 knot swells, but hey, what’s a bit of seasickness between strangers??

Low Isles

I also marvelled at these little crabs and the wonderful patterns they make in the sand. Ain’t mother nature amazing?

Crab patterns 2

Crab patterns 3

Crab patterns 4

And the beautiful frangipani, which grows EVERYWHERE there.

Frangipani

There’s a few more pics on my Flickr site, including more flora and fauna (even the crocodile I saw on the Daintree River), and on Facebook for those who know me there.

A lot went on in my head while away, but I won’t spoil these beautiful images with that now. Stay tuned.

6 thoughts on “Show and tell

  1. Once upon a time I used to live in Cairns, and travelled around to these places on weekends/holidays. Miss it very much (and wondering what I am doing now in winter-depressed Europe working on a Saturday).
    Lucky you who could go there!
    Btw, I think your shot of the croc is more than close enough.. =)

  2. Hi, Kerro –

    I am so glad you found some peace while on your break — even if the peace was accompanied by other stuff.

    I love the crab pattern photos . . . how incredibly interesting! Did you happen to see how they made them? It almost looks like they sat in one spot and purposefully drew pictures in the sand.

    Thank you for sharing!

    – Marie (Coming Out of the Trees)

Leave a Reply

