Holidaze

port douglas

I’m going on holiday. This time tomorrow I hope to be sitting on this beach relaxing (though I suspect I’ll be complaining about the heat). I’m taking my baby laptop with me, but am not sure if I’ll be able to blog, tweet, post in the forum etc. I need a break and just want sun, sand, surf and a drink with an umbrella in it. I figured this looks like a good location for those things.

In other news, many of you will know that Same Sky has been doing some really interesting work with her inner children. In a recent post comment, she said:

“A lot of trauma is held in the body, we have somatic memories and to work with them requires a shift in the way we do therapy. Talking doesn’t stimulate the neural pathways in the right way (it’s important to connect the cognitive, physical and emotional memories together).”

The stars must be aligned somewhere because I had my first session with my new Pilates instructor yesterday, who described herself as a “spiritual healer” (groan). We did some breathing work, and at one point she said (I quote):

“Geez, girl, what trauma have you suffered? Could you bring yourself back to a mild panic please?”

Sigh.

She told me about her own experiences with post traumatic stress. I burst into tears and she declared, “our spiritual guides meant us to meet today.” (Probably true, but my rational side groaned again.)

Between Same Sky’s comments and those of the instructor, I guess it’s time for me to start doing the body work that I need to do to heal. Who knows, may be this will help with the other Body Image issues as well. As I’m going on holiday tomorrow, I plan to use that time to absorb the energy of the sea for what appears to be the next part of my journey.

Take care everyone, I’ll see you soon.

21 thoughts on “Holidaze

  1. Hi Kerro,

    Good for you. Have a good time. My Reiki teacher would say for you to absorb the healthy, healing energy from the sea. I hope you have a great time in and around the water. I love the water. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  2. Have a lovely time Kerro. I will be thinking of you and wishing I was doing the same as I will probably encounter snow on my travels back north to school. *smile* Wishing you well friend, and hope to hear from you again soon! ((hugs))

  3. It does indeed look like the ideal place to rest, relax and partake in drinks with umbrellas in them 🙂 Enjoy and try to forget about things for awhile.

  4. Have a wonderful time, Kerro. It’s just started raining near my beachside place – I hope the weather is more sunshiny for you. That’s really interesting about the body work – I’ll be really interested in hearing more. I keep meaning to inject a bit more movement into my life too.

  5. “Bring yourself to a mild panic please?”

    ROTFLMFAO…
    Ahhh the joys of PTSD 🙂

    So glad you are exactly where you need to be to continue healing and growing.
    Have a lovely holiday, you deserve it!

  6. I’m so happy for you, both because your vacation sounds amazing and wonderful and also because of your new connection with your Pilates instructor. I’ve been a firm believer, for years, in things happening and people coming into our lives for a reason and at the exact time they are supposed to.

    (((K)))

  7. Have a great trip, and yes, it seems the new chapter is afoot. Body work is key, I can attest to it. It will help you so much, you won’t believe it. Just hang tough; you’ll see 🙂 ❤

  8. Thinking your either home or about to be? I hope you had an ok time dispite the craze. Awesome your Pilates course…I’m glad you went for it. Hang in there…sometimes individuals come into our lives and affect us in huge ways. Your in my thoughts K! Hugs!!!

  9. You guys are too too sweet. I’ve been missing you as well and can’t tell you how much I needed to hear that the feeling was mutual. Thank you. Hugs to all. See you in a few days.

Leave a Reply

