Conversation over dinner

Mum: “Your father’s been such a rude old b@st@rd lately.”

Me: “Mum, he’s been like that for a long time.”

Mum: “Yes, but he’s been worse lately. I really don’t think I can put up with him for much longer”

Me: “Well, put him in a nursing home. God knows that’s where he should be anyway.”

Mum: “I can’t do that. I can’t just dump him like that.”

Me: “Mum, he’s been treating you like sh1t for nearly fifty years. You owe him nothing.”

Mum: “I know, but I can’t do it. He’s got no one else. My conscience won’t let me.”

Me: “Go and see my therapist. She’ll sort you out.”

Mum: “Yes, she’ll just tell me I’m wrong.”

Me: “No, Mum, she’ll never tell you you’re wrong. But she will help you think it through.”

Mum: “No. I can’t do it.”

There’s so much wrong with this conversation I just don’t know where to begin.

4 thoughts on “Conversation over dinner

  1. That conversation also tells you a whole lot about why so many things in your mothers past happened as they did. I hope she does manage to put your father in a home. It really is the best place for him… It isn’t about abandoning him, it will be about giving him the care he needs.

    Take care,
    CG

  2. Hi Kerro,

    I’m sorry. Again it is you taking care of someone else who has not given you the care that was due to you. She sucks. I don’t like her one little bit.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  3. Pingback: Fixing 50 years of suppression « Kerro’s Korner

  4. Pingback: Conversation on the phone « Kerro’s Korner

Leave a Reply

