“Don’t go back”

This was my therapist’s conclusion when we discussed the situation with p-doc today. Thank god for that. I was starting to think it was me, all me, something terribly wrong with me.

My therapist said she only suggested I consider staying with him because she wanted me to have someone while she’s away; didn’t want me to be without anyone while she’s on holiday.

We talked about most of the things that p-doc said and did, and the way I’ve felt after my last two sessions with him. My therapist said she’s loathe to criticize another therapist, but admitted she thought some of his approaches were “unusual” and “inappropriate”. Thank all the copulating implausible deities for that.

She concluded that if p-doc is making me more vulnerable, and more unstable, and making me feel worse about myself (which he is), then … “don’t go back”.

I felt so much stronger after my session tonight – the complete opposite to how I felt with p-doc. I’m sure she was trying to bolster me prior to our break, but whatever her intention, it worked.

I am strong. I am powerful. And I can’t wait to ring p-doc tomorrow to cancel my next appointment. 🙂

Thank you all again for your love and support. I really am truly grateful.

8 thoughts on ““Don’t go back”

  1. Kerro – I am so happy for you! Happy especially that you got some corroboration of what you are already feeling. It feels good to be validated when you aren’t sure. 🙂

  2. Hi Kerro,

    I’m glad that your t was able to listen. And give you a supportive rsponse for what you believe is the right thing for you to do.

    Having someone who is supportive and helpful in healing as a backup is great. But this guy has proved he can’t do that for you while she is in town.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  3. Hooray!!!
    I thought some of things he said were pretty creepy, but my self confidence (or lack their of) got the best of me and I thought maybe I was being judgemental….
    ((kerro))

  4. Thank you all for your support. It means so much.

    @ Rainbow Socks – resolved! See my next post…

    @ Cat – thank you, me too! 🙂

    @ Butterfly & Wounded Deer, dear – I had lost all confidence in my ability to make a good judgement about this. It’s so hard to trust yourself sometimes. It was really empowering to have my therapist validate my feelings.

    @ Kate – “Having someone who is supportive and helpful in healing as a backup is great. But this guy has proved he can’t do that for you while she is in town.” Never a truer word was spoken, thank you.

Leave a Reply

